State of the Arts – no sleep ’til Barnsley

Victoria Ward

Next week I travel to Yorkshire UK for my very first international exhibition

This blogs explains why I may be errant in posting over the next month

On Monday I will be flying to the UK on my way to my first exhibition overseas. Dehydration is a big no no for me so I won’t be able to booze away the jittery fears I have about flying and about showing my work to British people. At the Cooper Gallery, part of the Barnsley Museum for two months and a bit my work and my partner’s will be shown to the very people who spawned the likes of Turner and Henry Moore.

While away I may or may not have time to blog, I just won’t know until I arrive, settle in and get down to work. There are various workshops, events and talks planned for us. This kind of thing doesn’t get to happen too often so we are going to make the most of it. And this is only phase one, phase two or the next leg of the tour begins again in June and I will have to go back. Getting to this point is a long tortured story that I won’t bore you with here.

They landed safely, sailed through the notorious UK customs, and are now being unwrapped and ready for hanging. Yikes.
They landed safely, sailed through the notorious UK customs, and are now being unwrapped and ready for hanging. Yikes.

Instead I plan to post regularly on twitter @hotspurstudio  and probably create shorter, more punchy blogs that may or may not include the State of the Arts of the northern UK arts scene. I hope to learn lots and bring some engaging ideas back with me. It’s an adventure to be sure but I also hope that the impact the trip has on me and any impact I have because of it will all be positive. I add this experience to my life’s portfolio; one that I have forged not for status or money but because making work is only half the story for me, feedback and people’s own responses to my work finishes the journey. And away I go….

Cooper Gallery, Barnsley, Yorkshire UK March 8th to May 24th, 2014

2 thoughts on “State of the Arts – no sleep ’til Barnsley”

Leave a Reply

